Athletics Cruise Past Mustangs

The trio of Andrew Buote, Grant Rix and Shande Mudryk combined for 13 points to lead an offensive barrage that carried the Grande Prairie Athletics to a 9 to 4 drubbing of the visiting Hythe Mustangs at the Coca Cola Centre.

The first period wasn’t the start Grande Prairie had hoped for. The Mustangs got on the board just twenty seconds in on a seeing eye shot that fooled starting goaltender David Larson. A minute later however all momentum the Mustangs had gained was evaporated when Mudryk scored to tie it at one. The Mustangs would score once more at the 14 minute mark but Buote would tie it a mere 11 seconds later.

The Athletics would take control of the game in the second period.

With Mustangs captain Jay Christie in the penalty box for interference Buote put home a bullet behind Mustang goalie Sky Buller after a nice feed from Mudryk pushing the lead to 3 to 2. He would strike again for his third of the game just three minutes later to make it 4 to 2.

Former Athletic Dustin Oakford would score at the 3:02 mark to help Hythe pull to within one but as was the case all evening any momentum the Mustangs gained from scoring it ultimately ended up being short lived. Rookie forward Adam Boytinck would score his first of two on the night a minute later to regain the two goal lead heading into the final frame.

Not much changed in the third period.

Grande Prairie found it’s game outscoring Hythe 4 to 1 in the final twenty minutes. A pretty passing play from both Boytinck and Tanner Labbe was finished off by their linemate Blaine Bablitz to make it 6 to 3.

Nick Reilly, Adam Boytinck (his second) and Grant Rix rounded out the scoring in the third for the A’s while Aaron Dumas scored the lone goal for Hythe.

With the win Grande Prairie remains a perfect 5 and 0 early on this season. They sit alone atop both the West division and NPHL standings with 10 points.

Scoring Summary

First Period:
HTH – 19:40 #22 Aaron Dumas from #10 Dave Crawford
GP – 18:48 #12 Shane Mudryk from #19 Andrew Buote and #11 Grant Rix
HTH – 14:05 #9 Cody Moulds from #10 Dave Crawford
GP – 13:54 #19 Andrew Buote from #11 Grant Rix

Second Period:
GP – 13:47 – #19 Andrew Buote from #12 Shane Mudryk and #5 Dustin Gould (PP)
GP – 10:55 – #19 Andrew Buote from #12 Shane Mudryk and #21 Kevin Poston
HTH – 3:02 – #7 Dustin Oakford from #9 Cody Moulds and #22 Aaron Dumas
GP – 1:56 – #24 Adam Boytinck from #12 Shane Mudryk and #11 Grant Rix

Third Period:
GP – 17:53 – #22 Blaine Bablitz from #67 Tanner Labbe and #24 Adam Boytinck
GP – 17:37 – #55 Nick Reilly from #27 Mike Mokr
HTH – 12:11 – #22 Aaron Dumas from #10 Dave Crawford
GP – 11:20 – #24 Adam Boytinck from #29 Ryan Chapman
GP – 0:08 – #11 Grant Rix from #12 Shane Mudryk (PP)

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *